Another Little Goal

So part of my goal to get healthier was to get off my lazy butt, and do something. Anything. I really stopped working out faithfully when I fractured my back after Bam was born. Before that I had a membership to the local Rec Center, and met up with friends, and ran 3 times a week. I’ve always tried to get in a few walks, or ride my exercise bike every week, but it obviously wasn’t helping to much. My main excuse was (is) that my back hurts. And it does. My back hurts all the time. It never doesn’t hurt. My life for the last 4-5 years.  I think it finally dawned on me that I could sit in my chair, and have my back hurt, or get up, and move, and have my back hurt. Yeah, it took 5 years for that thought to cross my mind. I’m kinda slow like that!

While I was wasting time  scrolling through Pinterest I saw a pin for Bodyrock.tv  I only glanced at the page the first time I saw it, but as I kept seeing more and more pins for it, I finally went back and looked through the page a little deeper.
I was intrigued by the idea of a 12 minute workout.  Mostly because I’m extremely lazy, but also because I am kinda lacking on extra time to do an hour of exercise everyday.
But mostly, I’m lazy.
I saw that they were doing a 30 Day Challenge. I told myself that if I planned to change up my current lifestyle, a little 30 day challenge would be no big deal. Unless I die sooner than I plan……
The 1st day was a 7 minute fit test.  Just 7 minutes!  I can commit to 7 minutes. I got my shorts and tank on, and did their 7 little exercises. Then I laid on the floor, searching for my breath, and waited for Jesus to come get me.   Oh.My.Gosh.  It was hard!

It was hard and I LOVED it!

I love the host, Lisa-Marie, and her  up-beat, happy personality.  I did the second fit test 15 days later, and was so pleasantly surprised to see how much better I did.  Even though I scored better numbers, I was still dripping sweat and beat!  Those challenges are tough! I’m on the last week of the challenge, a week behind the most recent post. They are actually starting February’s Challenge, but that’s okay. I started something, and I AM going to finish it. Well, actually,  I am going to finish a day early. I am getting a nerve block injection this Thursday, and my final fit test is Friday.  I cannot do any strenuous exercise for one week after my injections, so I’ll be walking for a week, and then I’m going to jump right into the middle of February!   I’m finding  that I am really sad about skipping a whole week of Bodyrock! I’m pretty sure I’ll still be checking out the site, just to see what Lisa has to tell me.  She’s pretty motivational like that!!!

And about my back hurting in a chair or my back hurting because I exercised,  I think my back actually feels better after I’ve worked out. Even if I only get relief for 30 minutes, I’ll take it!  30 minutes of pain relief is absolutely wonderful!!  You have no idea.  Unless you also have chronic pain, and then, well you do have an idea.

 

*****Disclaimer:  Some of Lisa-Marie ‘s outfits are a little on the skimpy side. But her abs are awesome.  Some of the still shots are pretty risque. I just scroll down to the video and workout.  I personally can look past that. If that is something that you can’t look past, you might want to skip Bodyrock.tv.  But you’ll miss out on a kickin’ workout!

Leave a Reply

