My Little Goal

So I decided that I need to get a little healthier.  Quite a few reasons made me decide this.  Chronic back pain,  constant heartburn, achy feet, always feeling sluggish, that nauseous feeling when I looked in the mirror…. there are more, but you get the gist of it. I started around Christmas time.  I saw a photo of myself that my sweet sister-in-law posted on Facebook, and I almost cried!
It was hideous.
Absolutely awful.
I started out just trying to figure out where I was at, and where I wanted to go, and then just slowly cutting back. I had decided earlier, before Christmas, that I didn’t want to drink pop anymore, so that was easier to give up. I’ve tried to get rid of pop before, but never made it very far outside giving it up for Lent.  I have not craved it one single time. I do not miss it. I really think it gave me heartburn one to many times! Or maybe I just had to be ready to give it up?
So after a few weeks of mostly just trying to be aware of  my daily habits, my workplace decided to start a little ‘Biggest Loser’ competition.   I came home and told Jason about it, and he told me to do it!  So I gave them my $10, and jumped right in. So 8 weeks, highest percentage lost wins the money.
Have I ever told you I like a good competition??
I LOVE a good competition!
So my personal goal I had to set for myself for the game was 20 pounds. Seriously, I said that out loud and it got written down! On my info sheet!
WHAT?
WHY?
Why did I set a goal of 20 pounds?  I promise I wasn’t even drunk! That was a sober statement!  The only 20 pounds I had done recently was to GAIN it!  But when I got home and started thinking about it, I decided I don’t care if it takes 8 weeks or a whole year.
I WANT to lose 20 pounds.
I NEED to lose 20 pounds.
I HAVE to lose 20 pounds.
I started bringing my planned out lunch to work. I started eating breakfast everyday. I changed around some of our dinners, and made the rest a bit healthier. I stopped over snacking, and I really really try not to mindless eat!  Today I am 4 weeks into it, and I am down 11 pounds!
I am so proud of ME!
It actually hasn’t been too hard, but I think it is more a mind over matter thing. I really want to do this instead of being told to do this. I really dislike being told what to do.
Ask my mom. She wouldn’t lie!
But as with life I need to keep my head in the right place. I actually hit the 11 pound mark last week, and I think I got a little to satisfied with myself. I went into ‘old thinking mode’. I thought, I had already lost more than half of my goal, what is a little treat gonna hurt?  Well more that a few little treats resulted in 0 pounds lost this week. I am really glad that I caught onto my attitude early, and was able to correct it before I saw any gainage on the scale.
That’s  when I really started to realize, holy cow,
This is all about attitude.
It’s all about choice.
My choice.
What am I going to choose today?  I can’t focus on what I’m going to do later or tomorrow.

Just right now, for today.

Also, I pray. A lot.

One thought on “My Little Goal

  1. Pingback: Biggest Loser Results « Wife2jason’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

