Swim Lessons

We just got done with swimming lessons for this year. Fred was in the same level as he was last year, level 3, but Bam moved up to level 1. They say it’s pretty common for a kid to spend a few sessions in level 3. Fred will be doing it again next year, but Bam has moved up to level 2. Fred is a little disappointed with himself for ‘failing’. I keep telling him that he didn’t fail, he just needs to be a little stronger in the water. For someone who needs to excel in everythingthat he does, this isn’t a good enough explanation. I’m sure by next year he’ll be over it. I hope.

Since it was one of my New Year’s Revolutions to take the boys to the park more often, we crossed the street to the city park quite a few days after swimming lessons were over. There is also a baseball park across from the park. The boys had a lot of fun playing one on one baseball. It’s hard to follow the game. Believe me. Rules were being made up and changed constantly. I’m honestly surprised they could remember all of them. But hey, they were having fun. A few days ago we were still at the park when the lunch truck got there. I didn’t realize our town did lunch in the park. I had seen on a website that two schools were serving lunch during the summer but nothing about the park. I asked if they wanted to get in line and they did. We were expecting PB&J, or cold ham and cheese, but no! It was a full hot meal! Two taquito/burrito things, pears, carrot sticks, graham crackers, cheese stick, and chocolate milk. They were FULL. For 20 minutes. Maybe a little longer.   We will definitely be hitting that up again. The best part?  FREE!!  I love it. Only I need to pack my own lunch. Since we weren’t expecting to stay, my stomach was growling smelling their lunches!

We are having such a fun and relaxing summer. It is going by way to fast.  But I am enjoying every minute of it.

SwimmingLesson (30)
Bam learning to float on his own. He now thinks this means he can swim. He is wrong and it’s kinda scary! He just jumps in now, but can not swim.
SwimmingLesson (33)
Fred learning to do the dolphin kick. He’s pretty good, but a little slow. He tires out quickly.
SwimmingLesson (36)
One on one baseball. I think it’s going to catch on and be the next big thing. Mark my words.
SwimmingLesson (39)

What a meal!!

Leave a Reply

