Time for a Revolution.

So I’ve never been a New Years Resolution kind of gal.  Mostly because I’m to lazy. I come up with great ideas all year round.  I don’t always follow all my great ideas.  A lot of the time they turn out to be not so great after all, but don’t go telling people I said that ‘k!

The preschool that my boys went to had goals.  They started these goals first of the year so technicallythey were new years resolutions. Both of my boys reached their goal and they were so proud of themselves. They both chose to learn to tie their shoes by their self. It was a good time for me too. I hated tying their shoes.  Bad mom I know…. but I told you I’m lazy! 

But I’ve been thinking about the whole idea lately.  New Year, clean slate, fresh start, do over.  Those thoughts plus the pride that the boys had when they reached their goal. So I think I’ll throw my hat in the ring this year, but I’m going to call it a New Year Revolution.  I’ll explain.  With the help on my good friend Webster…

Resolution: a formal expression of opinion, will, or intent

Revolution: a fundamental change in the way of thinking about or visualizing something

I love Webster. He’s always there for me. He always knows the right words and when to say them. Even how to pronounce them. He tells me how to spell a word when I haven’t got a clue. What a guy.

Any ways, I’m thinking I need a revolution more that a resolution.

Here they are in no particular order…. or are they?

  • pay off our credit card.  Gazelle like. 
  • wean myself off the crack….. I mean pop. I mean Pepsi.
  • lose 5 pounds, then another, then another.
  • run the entire Women’s Fitness 3K
  • run it in less than 45 minutes!
  • get the work week a little more organized.
  • take the boys to the park more during the summer.
  • get to know my Jesus a little better.
  • have more people over more often.

That’s about it for now, but like I said I have good(ish) ideas all the time, not just the few days between Christmas and New Years, so I might add to the list as the year goes on.  And looking at the definitions my boyfriend Webster gave me, it’s going to take more than a change of opinion to get these things done, it’s going to have to take a complete change of thinking….. Unlike the song says, it IS time for a revolution.  But not that kind.

So do you have any revolutions?  Are you up to it??

2 thoughts on “Time for a Revolution.

  1. I hope you had a Merry Christmas with your boys!

    I like the idea of revolution instead of resolution and setting realistic goals instead of lofty resolutions. I am going to have to think about my plan. I like this Jackie! Great ideas…. I like all your goals for the year.

  2. Pingback: Swim Lessons « Wife2jason’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

