Ranting

I know I don’t typically blog about political things, but I need to get this out, SOOO if you disagree, hit the back button on your computer.

I’ve been getting a few Facebook requests to join ‘End Homophobia Now’ and ‘1,000,000 Against Homophobia’. There are others about how horrible Prop 8 is and the list goes on.  But my issue is with the first two I mentioned. I have been called a homophobic many times before and it gets on my nerves more than anything else.  First I just want to point out what my good friend Webster has to say:

pho·bia  \ˈfō-bē-ə\ noun Etymology: -phobia : an exaggerated usually inexplicable and illogical fear of a particular object, class of objects, or situation

Did you catch that key word in there, FEAR.  That is what phobia means people. So to be a homophobic, I would in turn have to be fearful of homosexuals. Evidently in our society there is no distinction between fear and opposition.  Can I just say standing up for your morals and not agreeing with the act of homosexuality is not a fear issue.  I am so tired of people throwing around words and accusations to try to scare others into agreeing with them.  It takes a lot more guts to stand strong in what is right than to bow down before a weak and wicked bandwagon.  My rewards aren’t here on Earth with people I need to please or impress for today. It’s much bigger than that.

2 thoughts on “Ranting

  1. Well ranted! There is also a misunderstanding, misuse of the world “tolerant”. By the mainstream definition of “tolerant”, the people who call themselves “tolerant” accept others behaviors, beliefs, etc without much consideration and even with an sense of acceptance because it wouldn’t be “tolerant” to tell them they are wrong. However, I consider myself to be the intended definition of tolerant. For example, I do not agree with legalizing gay marriage. However, I will not squash the rights of those who support it to speak out about their beliefs. I tolerate their behavior because I am an American and I would want the same consideration my Constitutional Rights afford me. However, I will not accept that marrriage between two same sex people is right or acceptable. However, I will tolerate their desire for change without changing what I know to be the truth. (Yes, there is a right and a wrong in this world.) I will also speak out about the truth! That is tolerant. Truly.

Leave a Reply

