Music

Ok, so I’m one of those people who love LOVE music. And well to be completely honest, I’m also one of those people who cannot make music. Be it with an instrument, writing the words, or even my own mouth.  God did not bless me with that talent. It used to bother me, but not so much anymore. But for some odd reason, I can listen to music and tell you if your on or off key, or if the music doesn’t match the words. Stuff like that I get. Whether that has a name or not, I’m not sure. Music is so important to me. Music is always going thruogh my head. Everything seems to go back to a song. Music is life! Well, anyways, I sometimes like to pretend that I’m a music critic and tell other people what I like. Whether they do or not! So I’m going to do that now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PtVtR2AGfsI

There is a song that I heard on the radio for the first time today.  Our local station does  ‘New Music Monday’s” every week. But sometimes we get lucky and they will showcase something on other days too.  The song today was  ‘Almost Lover’, by A Fine Frenzy. This might not be a brand new song, but it’s new to me. I just have to tell you the emotions this song creates. First of all the singer, Alison Sudol, is gorgeous. This song has the most clean and crisp sound that I have heard in a long time.  It’s beautiful, honest,  gutwrenching, and a little uplifting in a sad way.  I realize that is a confusing group of words to link together in a song. I think the reason this song is so powerful to me is because everyone’s felt the words she is singing.  Either you were the one left behind, or you were the Almost Lover. I listened to it thinking about Jason. He never once was my almost lover, but what would life had been like if he would have been.  Oh my, I can’t even think about that!  But it’s also a song about moving on. Who hasn’t gone through a break up or something else heartbreaking, and you think you’ll never get over it. But the words to this song are like a light at the end of that tunnel, reaching out to grab your hand and walk with you until your through.  Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

